today in black history

December 09, 2022

P.B.S. Pinchback becomes the nation's first Black governor on this date in 1872 in the state of Louisiana.

Department of the Treasury

POSTED: January 09, 2009, 12:00 am

  • POST
    • Add to Mixx!
  • Text Size
  • PDF

Secretary: Timothy Geithner
Department of the Treasury
1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20220

As a major policy adviser to the President, the Secretary has primary responsibility for formulating and recommending domestic and international financial, economic, and tax policy; participating in the formulation of broad fiscal policies that have general significance for the economy; and managing the public debt. The Secretary also oversees the activities of the Department in carrying out its major law enforcement responsibility; in serving as the financial agent for the U.S. Government; and in manufacturing coins, currency, and other products for customer agencies. The Secretary also serves as the Government's chief financial officer.

Background: The Department of the Treasury performs four basic functions: formulating and recommending economic, financial, tax, and fiscal policies; serving as financial agent for the U.S. Government; enforcing the law; and manufacturing coins and currency.

Historical Note: The Treasury Department was created by act of September 2, 1789 (31 U.S.C. 301 and 301 note). Many subsequent acts have figured in the development of the Department, delegating new duties to its charge and establishing the numerous bureaus and divisions that now comprise the Treasury.

Agencies under Jurisdiction:

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
250 E. Street, SW
Washington, DC 20219

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
Fourteenth and C Streets, SW
Washington, DC 20228

Financial Management Service
401 Fourteenth Street, SW
Washington, DC 20227

Internal Revenue Service
1111 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20224

United States Mint
801 Ninth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20220

Bureau of the Public Debt
999 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20239-0001

Office of Thrift Supervision
1700 G Street, NW
Washington, DC 20552

Source: United States Government Manual